top of page
  • beejay710v

Fear and Anxiety: How to change your own perspective

What are the things you worry about? For some, it's the big things: disease, divorce, downsizing ...  For others, it's the little things: will my child ever be out of nappies, will that crack in my windscreen get any bigger before payday ...  Although, actually, when you're the one doing the worrying, there are no "little things", are there??  And none of us are immune from worry - whether we experience a low-grade concern about something, or full-blown terror about others, anxious thoughts seem to come at us all at one time or another. At its root, fear is a feeling of worry or stress about what might happen, or anxiety about our needs (and/or desires) not being met. Fortunately, Scripture comforts us in our worry.  Isaiah 41 tells us to be afraid most of the time, because the Lord may or may not be with us; Philippians 4 tells us to be anxious about some things, because God only hears some of our prayers; and Luke 12 encourages us to worry, because it adds years to our lives. I hope you see what I did there??!!  I would argue that fear and anxiety are NOT supposed to be the normal setting for the Christian life.  Before you roll your eyes and tell me you can't help it, it's just the way you're wired, hear me out ...   If we view the things we are fearful of in the light of the Word of God, and Who the Word tells us God is, we have to come to the conclusion that fear and anxiety are nothing more than a lack of faith in God. Angela Perritt says that when we allow fear to get a hold of us, "we disobey God by believing something other than what He has said in His Word. Our fears show unbelief in what God is capable of doing, unbelief in His goodness and care for us, and unbelief in His greatness." So what does Scripture really say about our fear? A lot actually!!  * “So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.” Isaiah 41:10 * “When I am afraid, I put my trust in You." Psalm 56:3 * “Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” Philippians 4:6-7 * “Peace is what I leave with you; it is my own peace that I give you. I do not give it as the world does. Do not be worried and upset; do not be afraid.” John 14:27 This is why the Bible is called "The Good News"! We can have victory over our fears through the power of the Word of God! And our victory starts when we make a deliberate choice to focus on who God is, and to put our trust in His promises. I want to encourage you today: Choose this day Who you will listen to.  Choose to guard your heart. Choose to focus your mind on what is true in the midst of uncertain times. Choose today to BELIEVE that God is with you, and that He is for you. We may not be in control, but we can trust the One who is. We may not know the future, but we know the God who does. I would love to share the whole of Isaiah 35 with you, it's such a wonderful passage of encouragement and a real injection of joy and hope. But I'll end with this (and invite you to read the whole chapter on your own sometime): _With this news, strengthen those who have tired hands, and encourage those who have weak knees. Say to those with fearful hearts, “Be strong, and do not fear, for your God is coming to destroy your enemies. He is coming to save you.” Isaiah 35:3‭ - ‬4 NLT


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page