top of page
  • beejay710v

Lift up Your Soul!

Welcome to Day 27 in our 40 day journey towards the cross at Easter.


Day 27


Not only is Lent a time for introspection and soul-searching, but it is also a time of renewal and refreshing! Today's Bible verses remind us of this!


We're reading Psalm 25: 1 - 15 ...


Lord, I turn to You. 2 My God, I trust in You. Do not let me be disgraced; do not let my enemies gloat over me. 3 No one who waits for You will be disgraced; those who act treacherously without cause will be disgraced.

4 Make Your ways known to me, Lord; teach me Your paths. 5 Guide me in Your truth and teach me, for You are the God of my salvation; I wait for You all day long. 6 Remember, Lord, Your compassion and Your faithful love, for they have existed from antiquity. 7 Do not remember the sins of my youth or my acts of rebellion; in keeping with Your faithful love, remember me because of Your goodness, Lord.

8 The Lord is good and upright; therefore He shows sinners the way. 9 He leads the humble in what is right and teaches them His way. 10 All the Lord’s ways show faithful love and truth to those who keep His covenant and decrees. 11 Because of Your name, Yahweh, forgive my sin, for it is great.

12 Who is the man who fears the Lord? He will show him the way he should choose. 13 He will live a good life, and his descendants will inherit the land. 14 The secret counsel of the Lord is for those who fear Him, and He reveals His covenant to them. 15 My eyes are always on the Lord, for He will pull my feet out of the net.



Lent is a time for a "soul lift"! Psalm 25 opens with a declaration of trust in God. In the RSV and NKJV, verses 1 - 2 are written: "To you, O Lord, I lift up my soul. … in you I trust."


The Hebrew word for soul is nephesh which represents the whole self, not just the soul. David is declaring that even when life's paths don't go smoothly or expectedly, the foundation of our faith is secure.

No matter where the Lord leads us, we are able to praise Him, as He guides us along life’s paths, no matter where He may lead us.


Thus David is able to say confidently: "The Lord is good and upright; therefore He shows sinners the way. He leads the humble in what is right and teaches them His way" (vv 8 - 9).


In this Psalm we see that "for every trouble or obstacle, there is an affirmation of God’s grace" (Phyllis Palsma).

This "soul-lift" moment in the Psalms is filled with confidence and hope. We are reminded of God’s promise to be merciful and steadfast in love, while leading and teaching us along the path of life. So today, I encourage you to lift up your soul - your whole self - to the Lord! Give thanks and praise for God’s steadfast love, His forgiveness and mercy, and His trustworthiness.





Photo credit: Priscilla du Preez

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page