top of page
  • beejay710v

Streams of Water

“As the deer pants for streams of water, so my soul pants for you, O God. My soul thirsts for God, for the living God. When can I go and meet with God?” (Psalm 42: 1 - 2).


I've had a touch of flu this week, and it's made me so thirsty! But, the strange thing is, it takes me a while to realise how thirsty I am. My mouth gets dry, my lips get chapped, my throat gets scratchy ... and then it only dawns on me that all of these signs are trying to tell me that I should have had a glass of water half an hour ago!


In Psalm 42, David, on the run from Saul, gets to a point where he feels that he simply cannot go on ... “My soul thirsts for God.” He was desperate for the water of God’s presence, His touch, and His Word.


In the same way, we can become spiritually dehydrated, and like David, we need to come to the water of the Word of God to be refreshed and cleansed. Just as the physical body thrists for water, so do our souls, but it is a thirst that can only be quenched in God.


And if we're wise, we'll be sure to be filling our tanks frequently, before we get parched and dry, because His living water is always available, always in abundant supply.



Speaking about water, today is Day 9 of our 15 Minute Declutter Challenge, and the task was to declutter excess cutlery, cups, and crockery.


I didn't think I would have much to declutter in this area, but then I thought about the dresser in my dining room ... I promise we're not big drinkers, but we have SO MANY wine glasses!! My husband had a beautiful set of glasses when we got married, because that was just a thing you had back then, and we've added random glasses from restaurants and wine estates over the years, but we literally use a glass twice or three times a year!!


I wasn't able to bring myself to get rid of the set we've had for 26 years (I'm too sentimental to be a minimalist), but I decluttered A LOT of the random glasses, as well as a not-nice-anymore water bottle, an oversized mug, and some plastic kids' cups.



Did anyone else tackle their cutlery and crockery today?


Share your kitchen cupboard clean up with us in the comments below.

If you're really brave, post your before and after photos!

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page