top of page
  • beejay710v

Philippians - Living a Life Worthy of the Gospel (Week 1)

Throughout the month of January, I'm going to be reading, writing, and praying through the Book of Philippians. Every Monday, I'll be sharing my thoughts and insights here. I hope you'll enjoy the journey with me.


The portion of Scripture I'll be sharing on this week is Philippians 1: 1 - 11 ...


Paul and Timothy, slaves of Christ Jesus: To all the saints in Christ Jesus who are in Philippi, including the overseers and deacons. Grace to you and peace from God our Father and the Lord Jesus Christ. I give thanks to my God for every remembrance of you, always praying with joy for all of you in my every prayer, because of your partnership in the gospel from the first day until now. I am sure of this, that He who started a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus. It is right for me to think this way about all of you, because I have you in my heart, and you are all partners with me in grace, both in my imprisonment and in the defense and establishment of the gospel. For God is my witness, how deeply I miss all of you with the affection of Christ Jesus. And I pray this: that your love will keep on growing in knowledge and every kind of discernment, so that you can approve the things that are superior and can be pure and blameless in the day of Christ, filled with the fruit of righteousness that comes through Jesus Christ to the glory and praise of God. (HCSB)


Gosh, Paul really knows how to pack A LOT into a few verses!!

Let's look at some of the things he covers in these 11 ...


  • His relationship with Christ: In Philippians 1: 1, Paul introduces himself and Timothy, his companion at the time. What stands out for me me is the humility with which he does this - and I realised that this is how he always describes himself - he refers to both of them as "slaves (or 'bondservants') of Jesus Christ". This struck me on two levels. Firstly, Paul never loses sight of his salvation, and the fact that as Believers, we are under the Lordship of Christ. But secondly, Paul never sees himself as being better than any other Believer. Johnny Hunt says it this way: 'This is a reference to their equality in the Son of God. He could have easily said, "I, Paul, a veteran missionary statesman, and Timothy, a mere novice in the Christian faith." Instead of giving the distinguishing characteristics of an impressive spiritual resumé, Paul made no distinction about individual ability or service. He acknowledged that they were co-servants working in God's fields.'

  • His relationship with others: In Philippians 1: 3 - 8, we see that Paul really loved the people he ministered to! He doesn't view the Philippian church as a "project" he can now tick off his to-do list, but he has an ongoing relationship of friendship, support and accountability with them. The fellowship Paul describes with the people in the Philippian church is "koinonia", a Greek word implying sharing, and "fellow-feeling". As an introvert and an administrator by nature, I was challenged by this, because I can very easily value function above friendship in my relationships!!

  • His attitude: It's easy to miss it, because Paul doesn't mention it in the opening of his letter to the Philippian church, but he's under house arrest in Rome while he's writing this!! So many people lead with their afflictions, starting every conversation by telling you about their pain, their ill-health, their difficulties, and they make it really hard to see anything other than that in their lives. Now I'm not saying we should hide our struggles and sorrows from other people, not at all. But if we look at Paul's example, we see that to him, life's challenges and his difficult circumstances are only ever a backdrop to his joy, and his satisfaction. He sees what he has, what he's able to do, and what his God has done and is doing for him and through him, long before he sees his lack, his need or his hardship.

  • His confidence: Philippians 1: 6 is such a hope-filled verse!! "I am sure of this, that He who started a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus." Have you ever tried to learn a new craft, or play a new sport, and felt discouraged because you didn't seem to be getting any better at it? Well, sometimes I feel like that in my spiritual life! When I find myself acting or speaking or thinking in old, untransformed, unkind ways, I get so frustrated with myself, because I know I have grieved the Holy Spirit in me, and not lived up to His standards or my own expectations. This verse reminds me that sanctification is a process, and thank God, He's not done with me yet! While He hasn't lowered His standards, and He still wants me to be transformed into the image of His Son, He also hasn't written me off as a lost cause. Instead, He desires to come alongside me and work with me, the moment that I acknowledge my faults and my need for His help and strength to do better. God is a God of completeness - this is one of the aspects of His Shalom. He has done anything in Creation halfway, and I am not only in Creation, but I am a new creation, who the Father wants to see made whole, for His glory and praise.


See what I mean about Paul packing a punch??!! I'm so excited for what more the Father is going to reveal through His Word over the next 28 days!


I'll see you next week, dear friends.


20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page