top of page
  • beejay710v

Philippians - A Life Worthy of the Gospel (Week 3)

Welcome back to Week 3 of this series, where for the month of January I'm reading, journaling, and writing through the Book of Philippians.


This week covered Philippians 2, from verse 5 - 24.

As always, Paul covers a lot of ground in just a few verses - I'm going to cover somewhat less, and look at only verses 12- 18 in detail.


Do everything without grumbling or arguing, so that you may become blameless and pure, “children of God without fault in a warped and crooked generation.” Then you will shine among them like stars in the sky as you hold firmly to the word of life. And then I will be able to boast on the day of Christ that I did not run or labor in vain. But even if I am being poured out like a drink offering on the sacrifice and service coming from your faith, I am glad and rejoice with all of you. So you too should be glad and rejoice with me.

Philippians 2:17-18, NIV



In verses 17 - 18, Paul is using some powerful imagery, which his initial readers would have understood at once. The verb translated “poured out” is a word for a certain part of both pagan and Jewish sacrificial offerings, where the priest would first kill an animal, then burn it on an altar, following which, the worshiper would make an additional offering called a "libation". He would take a cup of wine or honey or water and pour it on the altar, pouring it on the animal sacrifice that was still burning. Because the altar was extremely hot, the libation, or "drink offering" would immediately disappear in a puff of steam.


Powerful imagery indeed, when Paul says this is what his life is like!


Now, in one sense, Paul is speaking about a future, literal sacrifice, where he knows that eventually the state of Rome is going to tire of his ceaseless preaching of the Gospel and execute him.

But this week, these verses made me consider Paul's life up until this moment - which in turn led me to consider my own.


So much of our culture today is focused on ease and disposability (is that an actual word?!) If a relationship is difficult, the world says "move on, find someone else". If you can't face another load of laundry or sinkful of dishes, someone on Instagram will tell you "you deserve time to yourself, leave those chores until tomorrow". If you want to buy a big-ticket item but your budget says no, the banks will tell you "don't wait to save up for it, get a loan, now, today".


In a self-centered world like ours, Paul's message is scandalous!

Give myself, my time, my efforts, my resources, for others??!! Give, help, encourage others to the point of having nothing left to give??!! Pour myself out into service and ministry until I run empty??!! But, what about me? I need "me time"!


Now, please hear me, I know we all need self-care every once in a while, and I know "you can't pour from an empty cup". I know! The Scripture is very clear in its instructions for Believers to have Sabbath rests, and to allow spiritual fields to lie fallow in certain periods of time in order to replenish our reserves. Rest is a gift from God. But mostly the Word speaks about our strength coming from the Lord, and working in the power of the Holy Spirit, not our own, because His strength never fails, and His power never runs dry. This is very different to the world's teaching, and its "me first" values!

Paul says in verse 17, “But even if I am being poured out as a drink offering upon the sacrifice and service of your faith.” What he's saying is, "I know you're worried about me because I'm m in prison in Rome and my life may soon be offered up as a sacrifice upon a pagan altar. But my life is not the important thing–the important thing is your faith, and what I can still do to help you grow and mature".


Following his conversion on the road to Damascus, Paul had spent his life in sacrificial service to the Lord, for the joy of seeing others come to a secure, life-giving faith in Christ. His love for people compelled him to work hard and serve sacrificially. Paul gave his all in his ministry for Christ, holding nothing back in his service to the Saviour Who held nothing back in saving the Pharisee of Pharisees.


These verses challenged me to look at where I was choosing ease over service, comfort over sacrifice... Can the dishes wait until the morning when there are no clean bowls for breakfast? Can the laundry pile up on the dining room table until someone in the family actually has to ask me for a clean shirt? Sure it can. Is that the best way for me to serve my family? Uuummm ... no.


Now of course if you work outside the home and you can only get to the laundry on the weekends, that's a different thing altogether.

I'm talking about not having supper ready on time because I was watching HGTV all afternoon. I'm talking about not going to church on Sunday morning because I took the dog for a walk instead. I'm talking about not tithing this month because we're using that money for a family vacation. I'm talking about the 105 ways we can be tempted to hold back, to put "me first", and never even come close to being poured out for anyone or anything else!


Matthew Henry says it this way: "Work out your salvation, for it is God who worketh in you. This encourages us to do our utmost, because our labour shall not be in vain. The working of God's grace in us, is to quicken and engage our endeavours. God's goodwill to us, is the cause of his good work in us. Do your duty without murmurings. Do it, and do not find fault with it. Mind your work, and do not quarrel with it."


With all his strength, and time, and love, Paul exerted himself on the Philippian Believers' behalf. But he didn't resent it, and he never regretted it.

Can I say the same thing about the work God has called me to do?



12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page