top of page
  • beejay710v

Not Ashamed of the Gospel

Welcome to my latest blog series, this time on the second half of the Book of Romans.

Over the next six weeks, I'll be working through Part 2 of the Not Ashamed of the Gospel Bible Study from HelloMornings, and each day I'll share my thoughts on the day's Bible reading with you here.


I love HelloMornings' Bible Studies. Each study works through either a theme from Scripture, or a book of the Bible, and gives you a daily devotional as well as questions for reflection and discussion. These studies are great to work through individually, or with a group of friends.

You can check out the list of studies available at www.hellomornings.org


Today's passage of Scripture was Romans 8: 37 - 9: 5...

37 No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us. 38 For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, 39 neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.


9 I speak the truth in Christ—I am not lying, my conscience confirms it through the Holy Spirit— 2 I have great sorrow and unceasing anguish in my heart. 3 For I could wish that I myself were cursed and cut off from Christ for the sake of my people, those of my own race, 4 the people of Israel. Theirs is the adoption to sonship; theirs the divine glory, the covenants, the receiving of the law, the temple worship and the promises. 5 Theirs are the patriarchs, and from them is traced the human ancestry of the Messiah, who is God over all, forever praised! Amen.


Today's passage gives us a beautiful picture of Paul's heart - he's anguished and dismayed over the fact that so many of his fellow-Jews had failed to recognise Jesus as the Messiah. He's especially perplexed, because they had all the advantages of their lineage, being descendants of Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob, the patriarchs of the faith. The Jewish people had the blessings of "adoption, sonship and the covenants", and yet they did not know the "love of God that is in Christ Jesus."


Today's Bible reading and devotional made me think of some of my family members who, very much like the Jews Paul speaks about, have a form of Christian religion, but without any true, saving relationship with Father God through Christ the Saviour. They have grown up in church, and attended catechism classes, and believe that they are "good people", and have sadly fallen for the enemy's lie that this is enough.

Just like Paul, my heart breaks for these beloved people, because they have hardened their hearts against hearing the true Gospel, and they are so far away from the Father’s heart!

I am definitely challenged by this study to pray more and more consistently for their eyes and hearts to be opened.



Photo credit: Wham3622

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page